Moving Time

Screen Shot 2014-08-03 at 11.01.34 AM

Records and stereo all packed up!

It’s hard to believe, but it’s almost moving time. After a great and productive summer in Atlanta, I’ll be heading back to Athens to begin my graduate program.

It’s an exciting but intimidating time. I always entertain the fear of the unknown. However, since I know Athens and UGA so well, I’m not as worried as I normally would be. I love the city and I love the school. I imagine that my next few semesters will be challenging, yet manageable.

Before the semester begins (and I lose track of time), I’d like to make a few goals. Since I’m starting a new chapter, I’d like to work towards a few things. This post will help me keep track of them!

1. Give it my all in my classes. This should sound like a given. However, I want to start off the program strong. I want to really commit myself to my schoolwork.

2. Attend more concerts. Athens offers so many options when it comes to live music. I should at least attend a few per month, especially since I’ll be so close to venues like the 40 Watt and Georgia Theatre.

3. Plan mini trips. Since I’ll be staying in Georgia for at least another year +, I need to get the travel bug out of my system. Whether they be trips in driving distance or are far away, I’ll need at least a few excursions over the next five months.

4. Enjoy the moment. In undergrad I often found myself stressing out too much. I would blow exams or papers out of proportion. In hindsight, I don’t remember those specific papers or tests. Instead I remember the moments I learned or spent time with friends. I want to go into grad school with a new mindset. I want to enjoy school in the present.

Leave a comment